Monday, November 29, 2010

First committee meeting of the new committee of ORSA

The first committee meeting of the new committee of ORSA will be held on coming Saturday 4th of December 2010 from 6.30 pm onwards @ O.B.U Headquarters, Buwelikada.

Meeting going to proceed with a Special religious activities which going to held @ Sri Dalada Maligawa Premises @ around 5.30pm.

If you have any suggestions / Ideas/Comments,that you like to share with the new committee, ORSA likes to welcome all.

(Source: Suminda Withanarachchi)

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Need your support on Construction of the Pathways to the Den Cabin

Construction of the Pathways to the Den Cabin started on 12th September 2010 and now its a ongoing process.

The full length of the pathway is 300fts and estimated cost is Rs800,000/=.

ORSA kindly expect your support on this.

Attached is a converted presentation about the construction process, how it’s going and current situation on it.

Presentation is done by our colleague Suranga Liyanage.

Please contact Jagath Herath on 071-4426070 or Namal on 0777-233361 for more details.

We expect your maximum contribution on this.

(Source: Namal Palliyaguruge)

Monday, November 15, 2010

32nd Annual General Meeting of Old Rajans Scout Association

The 32nd Annual General Meeting of Old Rajans Scouts Association held at Casamara Hotel in Kandy on 14th Nov 2010.

The Chief Guest for the day was Mr. Ananda Melpitiya, the Secretary of the Sri Lanka Socut Association.

The event was very important one for the ORSA, which is marking towards to 100 years of scouting at Dharamaraja College in two years time. To enlighten the gathering, Former Principal Mr. A. P. Gunarathna, Former Group Scout Leader Mr. Bandara Weerasekara, Former Group Scout Leader Mr. Saliya Rajakaruna, Present Principal Mr. S. M. Keerthirathna, Kandy District Scouts Commissioner Mr. Sarath Matharaarachchi and the present Group Scout Leader M. Wijesiriwardena were also among the distinguished gathering.

The event became a very successful with most members actively involving with the discussion by sharing their thoughts and willingness to be a part of the team to host all important celebration in Year 2013.

One of the key segment of the event was the Awards of Appreciation to four of Pioneering members of the association who have been exceptional members.
Namely : Mr. Saliya Rajakaruna, Mr. Saminda Basnayake, Mr. U. L. Weerasinghe and Mr. Lalith Kulathung.

The most exciting segment of the day was Launch of Official website of the RISGO 2013 Jamboree. With that the 2013 event is publicly acknowledge. Chief Guest of the event Mr. Ananda Melpitiya declared the availability of the official web site of RISGO 2013. Visit : or

Following are the newly elected officials for the year 2010/11.

Hon. President : Dr. Jagath Herath

Hon. Secretary : Mr Suminda Withanaarachchi

Hon. Treasurer : Mr. Namal Palliyaguruge

Vice Presidents:
Mr Saminda Basnayake
Mr Saliya Dahanayake
Mr Asitha Edirisooriya
Mr Lalith Kulathunga
Mr Kithsiri Kulasooriya

Asst. Secretary:
Mr Chaminda Somathilake

Mr Jaliya Pagoda

For more pics :