Monday, November 17, 2014

Singithi Scouting Arrival at Lake View Park

Singithi Scouting group of 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group also began in parallel to nation "Singithi" scout inauguration program on the very day that the program began island wide. Hon. Sarath Ekanayake Chief Minister of Central Province and the Chairmen of the Kandy District Scout Association grace the occasion as the chief guest. Chief scout of 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group Mr. S. M. Keerthirathan and President of the Kandy District Scout Association Mr. Asitha Edirisooriya and group of district scout officials were also present at the investment ceremony held at the Lake View Park International Scout Centre on 14th Nov 2014.

Sunday, October 05, 2014

APR Director visits Dharmaraja scouts to inspect the world record

Jose Rizal Pangilinan, Regional Director of the World Scout Bureau Asia Pacific Region will visit Lakeview Park International Scout Centre, Dharmaraja College, Kandy, 6th October to inspect the Guinness World Record established by 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group with creating the world’s largest neckerchief and woggle to mark their Centenary Celebrations.
Jose Rizal Pangilinan holds a Master of Arts Degree major in Administration and Supervision. He also holds the rank of Commander in the Philippines Coast Guard Auxiliary. Having spent more than 20 years serving scouting, Pangilinan received the Loyalty Award from the Boy Scouts of the Philippines in 2009 and the Gold USA Award in 2012. He also holds numerous awards from other National Scout Organizations in the Asia Pacific Region.

The Regional Director of APR, Mr. J. R. Pangilinan and Mrs. Pangilinan accompanied by Mayor Danilo Asieten and Mrs Asieten will reach Kandy on 6th October to personally inspect and verify the great achievement of 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group in entering the Guinness Book of World Records.
The 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group has a remarkable 100-year history in the local and international scout arena with its very first great achievement, the ‘King’s Flag’ which they won for three consecutive years 1917, 1918 and 1919. The Troop had the unique distinction of providing a guard-of-honor when His Royal Highness, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VIII) visited Ceylon in 1921. The Guard-of-Honor was drawn up on the platform of the Kandy Railway Station and was personally inspected by His Royal Highness, who paid tribute to the Rajans on the very smart turn-out, thereby being the only troop in the East to receive this recognition up to that date in 1921.
Dharmaraja scouts had the rare opportunity to honor the founder, Lord Baden Powell in 1921 and 1924 on his visits to Dharmaraja College. They again had the honor of hosting Mr. Dale Sylvester, Asia Pacific Commissioner of World Scout Bureau, during his visit to Sri Lanka in 1971 and former Asia Pacific Regional Director Mr. Abdulla Rasheed has participated as the Chief Guest at the 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group’s Centenary Celebrations Jamboree, RISGO in 2013.
From 1993 1st Kandy scouts won the Island Merit Flag for being the Best Scout Group in Sri Lanka consecutively. The 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group founded by late John Henry de Saram, has the scout centre, Lakeview Park International Scout Centre and its highest point was named as ‘Baden Powell Hill’ to mark the historical visit by the Founder of World Scouting Lord Baden Powell.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Presentation of Guinness World Record by 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group to His Excellancy President Mahinda Rajapaksa

Members of 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group together with members of Old Rajans Scout Association met with His Excellency Mahinda Rajapaksa, President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka at Raja Medura at Kandy yesterday (10th Aug 2014) and inform about the Guinness World Record they established by creating the largest neckerchief and woggle. 

Patron to the Old Rajans Scout Association, Hon. Eric Weerawardena (M. P.),  Principal of Dharmaraja College Mr. S. M. Keerithirathna, former Deputy Principal of Dharmaraja College Mr. Sarath Matharaarachchi, former group scout leader of 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group Mr. Bandara Weerasekara were also present at the occasion.

On Prime-time News on Rupavahini, Sirasa, Swarnawahini and Derana. 

Monday, June 30, 2014

127th Founders Day Alms Giving at Asigiri Maha Vihara Pirivena

Old Rajans Scout Association offered alms giving for over 150 Bhikkus at Asigiri Maha Vihara Pirivena to commemorate the Founder’s Day of Dharmaraja College, Kandy on 29th Sunday of June 2014. This marked the 127th Anniversary of Dharmaraja College, which was established by Col Henry Steel Olcott, philanthropist and the founder of the Buddhist Theosophical Society on 30th June 1887. This marked the 12thconsecutive year of ORSA organizing the event.

During the 'Dhamma Desana' , most venerable Naranpanawe Ananda Thero expressed the importance of Dhana and appreciated the service of mother Dharmaraja in grooming Buddhist children in the country more 127 years from its inception in 1887.  Principal of Dharmaraja College Mr. S.M. Keethirathna, Deputy Principal Mr. S. Subasinghe, former Deputy Princiapal Mr.. Sarath Mathararachchi, Former Group Scout Leader of 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group Mr. Bandara Weerasekara, current scouts and  members of ORSA together with their families were present at the occasion. 

Former President of ORSA Mr. Asitha Edirisooriya together with Vice President Mr. Arosha Gunasinghe organized the event.   

It was also the birthday of former Group Scout Leader of 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group Mr. Bandara Weerasekara.